Category Archives: Perasha Synopsis

Beha’alotekha – Perasha Synopsis

The Perasha begins with the lighting of the Menorah by Aharon the Cohen as part of the Tabernacle inauguration. The Levites are then consecrated, and assigned their tasks and responsibilities. As the upcoming first anniversary of Pesah approached Hashem explains to Moshe the Pesah offering in the desert, and the concept of Pesah Sheni, a […]

Naso – Perasha Synopsis

This Perasha continues from last week’s counting and description of the responsibilities of the two remaining Levite families, Gershon and Merari.  The tasks of the Leviim were to be supervised by Aharon and the Kohanim. The concept of Sotah is introduced. Sotah is a woman who behaved in an unseemly manner, giving her husband good […]

Emor – Perasha Synopsis

The Perasha begins with a directive from Hashem telling the Kohanim, whose Divine Service places upon them a particular responsibility, to maintain higher standards of holiness and purity. As part of that holiness the Kohanim were exhorted to protect themselves from any “contamination” or “impurity” and if they become, they must withdraw from all aspects […]

Ahare-Kedoshim – Perasha Synopsis

This week we read two Perashot. Perashat Ahare revisits the death of Aharon’s sons Nadab and Abihu, who died in a previous chapter for bringing a foreign fire into the Tabernacle. This perasha connects their deaths to the Yom Kippur service, and their entry into a forbidden area of the Tabernacle.  The service for Yom […]

Tazria-Messora (Tahor) – Perasha Synopsis

Perashat Tazria discusses the laws of different forms of “spiritual impurity” brought upon by physical changes.  If a woman gives birth to a male or a female child, she enters into a period of “impurity” of different determination. Following the completion of this period the new mother begins the process of “cleansing”. At the conclusion […]

Sav-Shabbat HaGadol – Perasha Synopsis

Perashat Sav describes different types of offerings given in the Tabernacle, as well as the different flames and fires used on the altar. The Torah explains the process of giving four specific offerings; the Meal Offering, the Sin Offering, the Guilt Offering, and the Thanksgiving Offering. A Meal Offering consists of finely ground wheat flour, […]